Posted in Book Reviews

Anne Of Avonlea (Book Review)

A book review after soooo long!

“Anne had long ago learned that when she wandered into the realm of fancy she must go alone. The way to it was by an enchanted pathwhere not even her dearest might follow her.”

The most appealing thing for me about this book is it’s variety in imaginations, the colourful characters, and the smell of liveliness in every page. I bought the first book back in 2019 and watched it’s Netflix series before reading it in 2021. I HAD to get another part after that because I find Anne very relatable. Her words, ideas, imaginations always takes away one’s mind to another land. Her way of adapting to new situations and accepting her mistakes somehow ties up to it’s reader, in a good way and what I mean by that is that you’ll find it easier to be in her shoes and learn.

Anne is half past sixteen in this book and becomes a teacher of her villiage’s school, where she teaches little kids and ofcource finds difficulties but eventually makes out of it, not just alive, but also as everyone’s favourite teacher. We also see her dealing with things regarding freindships, her villiage, her students, and THE TWINS she and Marilla just adopted. The plot was much lighter than the first one. This book deals heavily with friendships, so I would loveee to share my favourite quotes from it regarding that:

“I fear the name of friendship is often degraded to a kind of intimacy that has nothing of real friendship in it.”

“Oh, sometimes I think it is of no use to make friends. They only go out of your life after a while and leave a hurt that is worst than the emptiness before they came.”

Montgomery’s grip on words is so simple yet so filling. I might end up buying all of their books eventually. I’m addicted and it’s certainly very easy on someone like me who prefers light reads over the heavy ones more often. There is another quote that I really loved!

“When I think something nice is going to happen I seem to fly right up on the wings of anticipation; and then the first thing I realise, I drop down to earth with a thud. But really, Marilla, the flying part is glorious as long as it lasts – it’s like souring through a sunset. I think it almost pays for the thud.”

There is this very interesting character ‘Miss Lavender’ who lives in avonlea and gets acquainted with Anne and eventually becomes close to her, which is such a reoccurrence, anne is just so loveable, I want an anne in my life too but anyway 😭 Miss Lavender goes through a heartbreaking love story 25 years prior to meeting Anne and through their newly blooming friendship, she opens up about it to anne which was such a meaningful part of this book. Their friendship ended up being my favourite thing in this book. Some quotes from Miss Lavender!

“I’m really a very happy, contended little person in spite of my broken heart.”

“But, anne, a broken heart in real life isn’t as half as dreadful as it is in books. It’s a giod deal with a bad tooth – though you won’t think that a very romantic simile. It takes spells of aching and gives you sleepless night now and then, but between times it lets you enjoy life and dreams and echoes and peanut candy as if there were nothing the matter with it. It won’t let you be miserable. It keeps on trying to make you comfortable – and succeeding – even when you are determined to be unhappy and romantic.”

L. M. Montgomery 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

5/5 from me! Definitely gonna go now buy a bunch of the following books of this series for sure 😀

Author:

An ordinary, nineteen years old, Pakistani student, studying in university who loves writing about things that matters to her, sometimes poetries and book reviews.

Leave a comment