Posted in Book Reviews

August wrap up!

I know it has been a long time since I have posted something other than poetry. Even the last time I posted poetry was many days ago. I am very sorry about that, but I wasn’t really doing anything else than reading and writing my own stuff on the laptop. I am using my ideas more into my ‘might be’ future projects, which I am not really sure about but good luck to me! 😛 So I can’t say anything about it for now. But yes, I need alot of focus on it and my studies.

Anyway, this post is all about my August wrap up! I am so so happy to see that I have read so much this month. There was a point when my head was hurting but I LOVED IT. LOL. These are the books that I have read~

+×+×+×+×+×+×

SHORT BOOK REVIEWS

🔸I started reading ‘Holding up the universe’ in the beginning of the this month. I rate it 5/5 because it was just the perfect read for me! I loved the idea and powerful messege behind the book. It talks about a person and who he really is beyond his looks. It’s about Libby Strout finding her voice and showing what she really is other than just a fat girl. It’s about Jack Masselin’s little secret that he carries with such coolness that no one ever gets to know about his struggles everyday.

It’s about them finding courage to find their selves and find love by finding eachother. It was just the cutest sweetest thing to read. I LOVED IT. It’s really inspiring and uplifting. I felt my spirits rising after reading this book, I really really recommend this one to all of you.

🔸After that, I started reading Attachments. Now, I was kind of not sure if I will like this book, because I had read Rainbow Rowell’s books before but never enjoyed them as much as I enjoyed this one. I rate it 4.5/5 because it was just the cutest love story that I have read in a long while. During 1999, when internet is still a novelty, Beth and Jennifer email eachother about their personal lives, love stories and family issues in a really comedic way that catches the attention of Lincoln, an IT guy who is responsible for monitoring the red flagged emails. He finds himself reading their emails everyday and enjoys their conversations and eventually falls in love with Beth.

It not only contains romance, but family troubles and heartbreaks to which you will find yourself getting attached to. It’s a kind book you will read in a go because of curiosity and fluttering butterflies inside your stomach.

🔸Then I started reading ‘Red Birds’ of which, unfortunately, I never did much research about. I just saw it everywhere in bookstagram, so decided to read it, plus, it being written by a Pakistani writer made me feel excited for it. But, I honestly didn’t enjoyed as much I wanted to.

I have a very confused opinion about it. The story starts with a guy named ‘Ellie’ brutally landing from his plane in a desert. At first, I thought it’s a girl. Naming a men Ellie was so weird btw. And then comes Momo, who lives in a refuge camp who is worried about his brother Ali, who was someohow taken away. Also, story is being told in the perspective of a dog ‘Mutt’? Which is Momo’s pet btw. It was sill understandable until the end when the story was being told by the perspective of more people like Momo’s mother and Ellie’s wife.. Also, at the end it became so confusing for me to understand what was going. I think Hanif was explaining it in a symbolic way which I failed to understand. I rate it 3/5

🔸The hate you give. This book was very powerful and moving which brought tears and even made me cry several times during it. Even after reading all this, I watched it’s movie too and cried all over again. I rate it 5/5

It’s really touching since it’s not something made up but is based on what’s really happening in many parts of the world. Starr Carter saw her best friend die when she was little and saw another close friend die when she was much older to understand the reason behind the racism of the police of her country. She is stuck between telling the truth of her community, fighting the racism or stay quiet to save her life but stay haunted by the ghosts of her best friends. This book is really moving, one of the best books I have read this year.

🔸AND THEN COMES A CLASSIC. MY FIRST TIME EVER READING A CLASSIC BOOK! And my experience went great with it. It made me buy more classics.. Lol.. I rate it 5/5

I am seriously not sure how to summarize this beautiful book. Long story short, it’s about finding true love and learning about yourself in the process of it. Elizabeth, who was very judgmental before learns how many layers a person can have in him and Mr. Darcy, who is really filled with pride learns to lower himself in front of his love. They both go through family trials and friendsips in the beautiful background of 1800’s style in England. UF. I just wish I would have born during that era. What a golden time to exist in.

🔸HOME FIRE. It’s an important book to read for literally every person in the time where Muslims are much ashamed by the terrorism and illiteracy spreading in them. Where people outside this community doesn’t understand the real teachings and morals of Islam. Where people think that an act of violence comes from a certain religion.

Let me tell you something, it doesn’t. Violence has no religion and the people who are using Islam’s name to do it are uneducated and messed up. It’s our messed up system that keeps on going with no one paying much attention to. I rate it 4/5.

🔸I ended my month with a poetry book because my head was hurting and i wanted a break, so a poetry book was my best choice to go for. And then after that I didn’t read anything in these last days of the month. But, watched a few movies! Lol

I honestly fell in love with Najwa Zebian’s words when I read her first book ‘Mind Platte’. It was something I needed at that time, but her other two books, which includes this as well, just doesn’t gives me the same spark as the first one did. Still, I enjoyed it and i rate it 3.5/5.

+×+×+×+×+×+×

Thankyou for reading my blog! I hope these short reviews helped you a little in deciding what to read next. I would say go for the classic or Rainbow Rowell’s ‘Attachments’ if you want to read something light, but if you want to read something thrilling and emotional then go for ‘The hate you give’ or ‘Holding up the Universe’

Thankyou again!

Also let me know your current read or your best read of this year so far in the comments.. ^_^

Author:

An ordinary, nineteen years old, Pakistani student, studying in university who loves writing about things that matters to her, sometimes poetries and book reviews.

Leave a comment